Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has said that Bengalis have had to agitate and struggle for every achievement from language rights to independence. He made the remarks at the Ekushey Padak award ceremony at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital on Saturday (February 20th). Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was virtually the chief guest at the event.

He said the father of the nation led the nation towards independence with a specific goal. The country will move forward with the conviction to walk with its head held high. As soon as the backbone of the Bengali nation was broken, the Pakistani rulers attacked the culture by imposing a foreign language.

Earlier, the medal was handed over to 21 eminent citizens for their contribution in various fields. This year, three people were awarded Ekushey Padak in language movement, three in liberation war category, seven in art, three in language and literature and one in journalism, education, research, economics and social service.

The medal winners received their respective medals from the Minister for Liberation War and their family members received the medals on behalf of the posthumous Ekushey Padak winners.

Motahar Hossain Talukder (posthumously) received the medal in recognition of his contribution to the language movement. Motahar Hossain’s daughter-in-law Jannat Ara Siddiqui received the medal.

Besides, Shamsul Haque (posthumous) and Advocate Afsar Uddin Ahmed (posthumous) have received medals in the language movement. Shamsur Haque’s son, Minister of State for Housing and Public Works. Sharmina Parveen, daughter of Sharif Ahmed and Afsar Uddin, received the medal.

Papia Sarwar (music), Raisul Islam Asad (acting), Salma Begum Sujata (acting), Ahmed Iqbal Haider (drama), Syed Salauddin Zaki (film), Dr. Bhaswar Bandyopadhyay (recitation) and Pavel Rahman (photography).

In the Liberation War category, Golam Hasnain, Fazlur Rahman Khan Farooq and Syeda Isabella (posthumously) received medals. Syeda Isabella’s son Kabir bin Anwar, senior secretary in the water resources ministry, received the medal.

In addition to journalism, Ajay Dasgupta, Professor of Research. Sameer Kumar Saha, Mahfuza Khanam in education, Dr. in economics. The Ekushey Padak was handed over to Mirza Abdul Jalil, Professor Kazi Kamruzzaman in Social Service.

Poets Kazi Rosie, Bulbul Chowdhury and Golam Murshid have won medals in language and literature.

Each recipient of the medal was given a gold medal weighing 35 grams, a certificate of honor and a check for Rs 4 lakh. Launched in memory of the martyrs of the language movement, the Ekushey Padak is awarded by the government every year in recognition of special contributions in various fields.

Cabinet Secretary Khandaker Anwarul Islam announced the names and read out the names of the recipients. State Minister for Culture KM Khalid presided over the function. Welcoming remarks by the Secretary of the Ministry of Culture. Badrul Arefin.


Read more: