This year’s Ekushey Padak will be given today. The award ceremony will be held at 11 a.m. on Saturday (February 20) at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium. 21 eminent citizens are being given Ekushey Padak this year. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is expected to be the virtual guest at the event. 

According to the Ministry of Culture, this year three people will be awarded Ekushey Padak in language movement, three in liberation war category, seven in art, three in language and literature, one in journalism, research, education, economics and social service.

Motahar Hossain Talukder (Motahar Master), Shamsul Haque and Advocate Afsar Uddin Ahmed are receiving the posthumous Ekushey Padak in recognition of their contribution to the language movement.

Singer Papia Sarwar, actor Raisul Islam Asad, Salma Begum Sujata (Sujata Azim), Ahmed Iqbal Haider (drama), Syed Salauddin Zaki (film), Dr. Bhaswar Bandopadhyay (recitation) and Pavel Rahman (photography).

In the Liberation War category, Golam Hasnain, Fazlur Rahman Khan Farooq and Syeda Isabella (posthumously) are receiving medals.

Ajay Dasgupta in journalism, Professor of Research. Sameer Kumar Saha, Begum Mahfuza Khanam in education, Dr. in economics. Mirza Abdul Jalil, Professor Kazi Kamruzzaman in social service, poets Kazi Rosie, Bulbul Chowdhury and Golam Murshid are getting medals for special contribution in language and literature.

The names of this year’s Ekushey Medal winners were announced on February 4. 


Read more: